James Foley Foundation Honors Poblete With the 2020 Hostage Freedom Award

The James W. Foley Legacy Foundation announced yesterday speakers and honorees for its 5th Annual James W. Foley Freedom Awards gala to be held at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. on April 1, 2020.

The keynote speaker at the dinner will be Admiral William H. McRaven, retired U.S. Navy four-star admiral and former ninth commander of the U.S. Special Operations Command, will be the keynote speaker at the dinner. McRaven is a powerful advocate for American values.

Poblete Tamargo’s Jason Poblete will receive the Hostage Freedom Award for his work to help free several Americans unlawfully detained in Iran and Venezuela, including U.S. permanent resident Nizar Zakka and U.S. citizen Xiyue Wang. They were held for four years and three years respectively by the Iranian Revolutionary Guard.

The foundation, named for freelance journalist James W. Foley who was murdered by ISIS in 2014, advocates for the safe return of Americans held hostage abroad and for improved safety for journalists operating in dangerous areas. You can learn more about the gala and the other honorees here.